First Project of the year: SOAP MAKING!

Well  first things first, an idea came to mind to start a blog after reading some of my beloved’s blog,  then I made a mistake of mentioning it to him because from that day on…….. (exactly 5 days ago now) he was bugging me everyday asking ” oh have you started your blog yet?

Here I am writing my first post! Hmmm I had so many ideas on what my first post should be  about. After a long thought process (not) I decided that it should be the first project that I started doing this year 2016, which is SOAP MAKING! The idea of soap making came to mind when I stumbled across a video on you tube. After watching the first video, I think I  spent my whole evening watching and writing out recipes for soaps, then I decided I will try to make soaps! I then again mentioned it to my beloved,  his reaction? ” Why do you want to make soap? So random” . I told him whatever I am making soap!

Little that I know he was going behind my back telling people about it and to my surprise his friend and girlfriend (Greg and Stacy) gave me a book on soap making on my birthday! The book was very informative and has tons of tips in soap making. Very very helpful indeed!

20160127_123736[1]

After browsing thru my book, I decided to buy the  ingredients and start making my soaps. Gathered all my supplies lye(which was not easy to find, merci to my beloved for buying it for me) hand blender, mold, measuring cups, container and chopstick (yes chopstick essential utensil for soap makers) it is use to make swirl designs etc.

20160120_100014-1[1]
My first batch of soap!
My first try in soap making was a success! The first batch was made out of 100% olive oil, macadamia oil for fragrance, turmeric (an anti inflammatory agent), and oats (good for skin exfoliation )  I cannot wait to try it. It needs to dry and cure for 3 weeks and it will be ready!

My soap mold collection growing thanks to my “in laws”  plus some essential oils, it was one of the best birthday gifts that I received this year  ( thanks again to my beloved for giving them tips on what to give me for my birthday). I cannot wait to use it all for my next batch of soap!

Soap making is such a joy, however you have to be precise; it requires a lot of patience in measuring your ingredients, or else your soap will turn into suds. All in all I had a lot of fun doing it and I am looking forward to making my own soap empire very soon!(not).

20160122_133523[1]20160122_133510[1]20160122_133649[1]

Thanks for reading and until next time!

2 thoughts on “First Project of the year: SOAP MAKING!

Leave a comment